I feel so empty without a functioning phone! Yesterday, my iPhone spontaneously decided to stop working and after dealing with the Genius bar and having them REFUSE to replace my phone since it was past the 1 year warranty, I am now forced to suffer from withdrawal until I can figure out how to replace it. In the meantime, posting of pictures will be limited.

So moving on from my tech problems to my health concerns – I’ve been trying to up my intake of omega-3’s. Up until the past month, fish was never part of my dinner rotation. But, I’m making a concerted effort to try more fish recipes. I started keeping a 3 lb bag of Kirkland Atlantic Salmon from Costco’s in my freezer. I love that they are individually wrapped fillets and I’m able to defrost only what I need. But while I do prefer fresh salmon, I don’t generally have the time or the inclination to run to the fish market or Wholefoods just to pick up fresh fish for dinner. Let’s face it, it’s just not that convenient.

Here’s a quick and easy recipe that takes about an hour to throw together. That’s including the 20-30 minutes it takes you to defrost the salmon in a bowl of warm water.

MISO GINGER SALMON

Serves 4

2 tablespoon white miso (fermented soybean paste)
2 tablespoon mirin
1 tablespoons unseasoned rice vinegar
1.5 tablespoons soy sauce
1 tablespoons minced fresh ginger
1 teaspoons toasted sesame oil
4 salmon fillets, 6-7 ounces each

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

2. Combine first 6 ingredients and mix well.

3. Marinate salmon for 30 minutes in the refrigerator.

4. Bake in oven for 11-12 min if you prefer your salmon to be ‘just done’, like I do. If you like it well done, leave it in for 15-18 min.

20130222-003702.jpg

